Link to A Storm of Paper Starlings buying options

Her name is Violet. It’s all I can give her.

That’s what it said in the note severing me from my roots—the note tucked carefully beside me in the equally abandoned car seat when I was freshly born.

My life was paper-thin — born on a day heavy with grief — with no parents to know, no heritage to learn, and no clue who the I in the note was. Knowing nothing weighed a lot.

… It was sixteen years before I began to know the truth, and even that was before all the other things wanted me dead.

Not the Same River is a series of 6 books following Violet’s quest for belonging in a family of angels, demons, vampires and vae breeds, her later recruitment to Cascade (an elite un/holy task force) and the ultimate battle that costs her family dearly.

1. A Storm of Paper Starlings

What if the ordinary family you crave isn’t ordinary at all?

When an accident lands Violet in hospital, her mundane life in a London children’s home is disrupted by relatives she’s never heard of—the Penhaligons—and a mysterious visitor who disappears into the night after claiming he’s the father of the twin sister she never knew she had.

With her long-lost sister, Amethyst, to find, Violet turns to her new family for help. But the Penhaligons are far from ordinary.

Power and magic lurk at the priory, Violet’s new home in the Oxfordshire countryside, and she learns fast that nothing is ordinary there, least of all the hostile new neighbours—a coven of vampires, vaewolves, and demons.

As Violet grapples with family secrets, four powerful new brothers, and latent abilities of her own, Amethyst and the man who raised her find themselves in mortal danger—a danger that draws Violet and her family into a battle to save them.

Finally embracing the meaning of family, two questions burn at the back of Violet’s mind.

If vampires and demons exist, what are the Penhaligons?

And what is she?

TL;DR: What if the ordinary family you crave finds you? Only they’re not ordinary, neither are you, and neither are the vampire neighbours raising your twin sister.

Available Now


2. From Tangled Roots Come Twisted Wings

When the river rises, there’ll be blood on my hands.

The coven is abroad. Creating new vaewolves. Attracting wraiths. Building an army.

An attack will come when the river rises. What Violet doesn’t know is why. The tree tapestry Mara spent a century seeking is the key, but the Penhaligons are running out of time to discover what it unlocks.

When the coven returns to England, allegiances are tested, sacrifices are made, and Violet’s best friend is changed forever.

Hell is here, and she brought friends.

Available for preorder


3. Of Blood & Oil

Final draft complete. 129K (from 172K)


4. Forged By Angel & Hellfire

Final draft complete, 126K (from 160K)


5. Legacies Unmasked

Final draft complete, 177K (from 198K)


6. Cadence of Truth

Draft complete, final edit pending. 210K (from 287K). Yeah, you heard me.


The series is set in Oxfordshire, England. A Storm of Paper Starlings has a release date of October 28th 2022, with From Tangled Roots Come Twisted Wings following in January 2023.